“For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. And we will be ready to punish every act of disobedience, once your obedience is complete.” (2 Corinthians 10:3-6)

A challenging passage that I was reminded of today followed by an equally convicting question:

“What are some of the causes of toxic thoughts in your life?”

Wow, I definitely need to mull that one over and yet I know I’d have pages upon pages to write on the subject. This passage speaks to me the reality of the battle in this life. Much of it takes place externally but perhaps more of it happens I the inside – inside our thoughts. At almost 7 years of recovery the battle to fight off lustful thoughts and fantasy is virtually a non-battle for me. I’m thankful for this that God’s power in me has helped me to overcome.

But as we all know the battle for our thought lives far surpasses sexual impurity. It spans into all directions and areas of darkness that the human mind is capable of. From selfishness, bitterness, anger, and pride. And a gazillion other areas that don’t even have room to be mentioned, our thoughts are able to go to some pretty evil places. And I do mean evil in the broadest sense of the word.

Thankfully, we’re given the power to literally take hold of toxic thoughts and surrender them to Christ. It’s certainly not always easy, but it refines in us a Power greater than ourselves.

Leave a Reply

